How long do you have to serve a summons and complaint in South Carolina?

How long do you have to serve a summons and complaint in South Carolina?

The summons and complaint must be served within the statute of limitations in any manner prescribed by law. If they are not served within the statute of limitations, actual service must be accomplished within 120 days after filing.

How long do you have to serve a complaint in Massachusetts?

Within Ninety (90) Days of Filing Complaint Service of the summons and complaint must be made upon defendant(s) within ninety (90) days after the filing of the complaint.

How long do you have to serve a summons and complaint in New York?

within 120 days
A summons with notice or summons and complaint must be served within 120 days of filing with the County Clerk.

What is a summons to court mean?

A Summons is an official notice of a lawsuit. It is given to the person being sued. This way, they can come to court and fight the lawsuit. When you serve the defendant with a Summons, you officially tell that you are suing them.

What comes first in a civil lawsuit?

The first thing that happens in any civil lawsuit is the plaintiff files an official complaint. This complaint lays out what the defendant did to harm the plaintiff, why this harm calls for legal compensation, and why the local court has jurisdiction over the lawsuit.

How are summons served by whom?

Every summon shall be served by a police officer, or by an officer of the court issuing it or any other public servant. The summon shall if practical, be served personally on the person summoned, by delivering or tendering to him one of the duplicates of the summons.

Can someone else get served on your behalf?

If the server is trying to serve the papers at the other party’s work, then the papers can be left with someone at the office that appears to be in charge and is at least 18 years old. The server must tell the person that he or she hands the papers to that they are legal documents for the other party.

Share via: