Useful Tips

Is there still a moratorium on evictions in Hawaii?

Is there still a moratorium on evictions in Hawaii?

All Hawai’i counties are covered by this eviction moratorium that ends on October 3, 2021. Landlords are prohibited from filing for eviction or charging any fees for unpaid rent and fees during the moratorium and must issue a notice to tenants to vacate 30 days before an eviction once the moratorium ends.

The new federal eviction moratorium extends rental protections through October 3, 2021. YES, this includes all major Counties in the State of Hawaiʻi. Check out my office’s fact sheet and apply NOW. For tenant and landlord assistance in each county, click here.

Can I be evicted during Covid in Hawaii?

There is currently a federal eviction moratorium under the CARES (Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security) Act. Hawaii state courts have an effective moratorium on evictions as District Courts are not taking summary possession cases (exceptions for health and safety) until after April 30, 2020.

How do I evict a family member in Hawaii?

Below are the individual steps of the eviction process in Hawaii.

  1. Step 1: Notice is Posted.
  2. Step 2: Complaint is Filed and Served.
  3. Step 3: Answer is Filed.
  4. Step 4: Court Hearing and Judgment.
  5. Step 5: Writ of Possession Is Issued.
  6. Step 6: Possession of Property is Returned.

How do I report a landlord in Hawaii?

If you have a residential landlord/tenant problem, there are a number of things you can do: Call the Landlord/Tenant Information Center at 586-2634.

How can I get help with rent in Hawaii?

Visit or (808) 521-4531 to apply.

  1. Hawaii Utility Bill Assistance Program.
  2. Energy Smart 4 Homes.
  3. State of Hawaii Landlord Tenant Hotline.
  4. Rapid Response Landlord-Tenant Mediation.
  5. Low Cost Home Internet Service for Residents.

Can you raise rent in Hawaii during Covid?

Can my landlord raise my rent during the pandemic? No. Under Hawaii Revised Statutes, a landlord is prohibited from increasing rent during the period of the State of Emergency declared by the governor.

Is it legal to prepay rent in Hawaii?

Prepaid Rent: At the beginning of a lease, the landlord may not require payment beyond the allowed first month’s rent and deposits. Tenant Allowed to Withhold Rent for Failure to Provide Essential Services or Habitability: Yes, this is allowed as long as the tenant follows the process outlined by §521-78.

How long does it take to evict a tenant in Hawaii?

Hawaii Eviction Process Timeline

Notice Received by Tenants Average Timeline
Issuing an Official Notice 24 hours-120 days
Issuing and Serving of Summons and Complaint A few days to a few weeks
Tenant Files for Appearance 5-7 days
Court Hearing and Judgment A few days to a few weeks

What are my rights as a renter in Hawaii?

State law regulates several rent-related issues, including the amount of notice (at least 45 days in Hawaii for a month-to-month rental agreement) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent and how much time (five days in Hawaii) a tenant has to pay rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.

How do you qualify for welfare in Hawaii?

To be eligible for Hawaii Financial Assistance, you must be a resident of Hawaii, and a U.S. citizen, legal alien or qualified alien. You must be unemployed or underemployed and have low or very low income. You must also be one of the following: Have a child 18 years of age or younger, or.

Share via: