Useful Tips

What do landlords have to disclose to tenants in Maryland?

What do landlords have to disclose to tenants in Maryland?

Required Landlord Disclosures in Maryland. Under Maryland law, landlords must disclose specific information to tenants (usually in the lease or rental agreement), such as the tenant’s rights to move-in and move-out inspections and the identity of anyone authorized to act on the landlord’s behalf.

Can a tenant file a complaint against a landlord in Maryland?

Those who feel they are the victim of housing discrimination may file a complaint and initiate the process here. There is no statewide standard on landlord entry notification. As such, Maryland landlords are free to enter without permission, unless lease provisions state the contrary.

When does a landlord have to return a security deposit in Maryland?

The landlord must notify the tenant of the date the inspection will take place and of the tenant’s right to be present during the inspection. There are specific rules Maryland landlords must follow when returning a tenant’s security deposit. The tenant has the right to have their security deposit returned within 45 days of move out.

Can a landlord change the locks on a house in Maryland?

Tenants in Maryland may be able to change the locks on their own without prior permission as the state’s law lacks guidance on the matter. Landlords are explicitly forbidden from changing the locks as a form of eviction (i.e. “lockouts”).

Where can I find the Maryland landlord tenant law?

To access the statutes, go to the Maryland Laws and Legal Information section of the Nolo site and find the link to your state laws. If you just want to browse through the Maryland landlord-tenant law, you can find state statutes at Md. Code Ann. [Real Prop.] § § 8-101 to 8-604.

Are there laws against landlord retaliation in Maryland?

Several other landlord-tenant laws in Maryland affect both property owners and renters, including: tenant protections against landlord retaliation for tenant exercising a legal right, such as complaining about an unsafe living condition (see Maryland State Laws Prohibiting Landlord Retaliation for details)

Can a landlord collect a security deposit in Maryland?

Maryland landlords are only legally allowed to collect up to two times the monthly rent as a security deposit. If the landlord collects more than that, it is illegal. A court could award the tenant as much as three times the amount that was collected in excess of two months’ rent.

How old do you have to be to be a landlord in Maryland?

She has more than 16 years of experience in real estate. Landlords and tenants in Maryland must become familiar with Maryland’s landlord-tenant laws. These laws spell out the specific rules and responsibilities both landlords and tenants must follow.

Share via: