What station does Jesus fall the second time?

What station does Jesus fall the second time?

The series of stations is as follows: (1) Jesus is condemned to death, (2) he is made to bear his cross, (3) he falls the first time, (4) he meets his mother, (5) Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross, (6) Veronica wipes Jesus’ face, (7) he falls the second time, (8) the women of Jerusalem weep over Jesus, (9) he …

What does the 9th Station of the Cross mean?

Jesus falls for the
9th Station: Jesus falls for the third time. 10th Station: Jesus is stripped of his garments (sometimes called the “Division of Robes”) 11th Station: Jesus is nailed to the Cross.

What happened when Jesus fell the first time?

He humbled himself and became obedient unto death, even death on a Cross” (Phil 2:6-8). In Jesus’ fall beneath the weight of the Cross, the meaning of his whole life is seen: his voluntary abasement, which lifts us up from the depths of our pride. Lord Jesus, the weight of the cross made you fall to the ground.

Why do we pray the Stations of the Cross?

The Stations of the Cross, also known as the Way of the Cross and the Way of Sorrow (Via Crucis in Latin), detail fourteen different moments on the day Jesus died. This prayer pilgrimage is a powerful way to grow closer to Jesus at any time of the year, though it is most popular during the Lenten season.

Why do you think Jesus had to die for us?

In the New Testament, Jesus, God’s Son, came to earth to reunite us with God through the ultimate sacrifice: his own life. We could never a life worthy of God on our own. So Jesus lived a life without sin on our behalf. And then he died the painful death our sins deserve.

When should you pray the Stations of the Cross?

When do we pray the Stations of the Cross? The Stations of the Cross are commonly prayed during the Lenten season. Tradition holds that Christ died on a Friday at 3 p.m. Because of this, many parishes offer Stations of the Cross services at this time on Fridays during Lent.

How long does it take to pray Stations of the Cross?

On Hallow, you can pray with the Stations of the Cross in a condensed “daily” format (up to 20 minutes), or you can pray the longer Stations Challenge, which guides you in Lectio Divina for each station (10 – 20 minutes each).

Share via: