Useful Tips

Can a landlord evict you without a court order in Nigeria?

Can a landlord evict you without a court order in Nigeria?

No, you cannot. You must provide tenant with written eviction notices. Where tenant remain on the property after expiration of the eviction notices, you must commence a formal eviction proceeding to eject him by Order of Court.

What are the rules for eviction of a tenant?

Rather, landlords must follow the state and local procedures for the physical removal of tenants. These often require landlords to retain the sheriff or other local law enforcement to carry out the actual eviction. A few states allow landlords to freely dispose of property a tenant leaves behind after moving out.

Can a landlord file a lawsuit to evict a tenant?

When tenants have received notice but do not move or fix the lease or rental agreement violation by the deadline in the notice, the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit. Typically, landlords who do not have cause cannot terminate the tenancy of a tenant with a fixed-term lease.

Can a landlord evict a tenant in Northern Ireland?

You must follow strict procedures if you want your tenants to leave your property. You may be guilty of harassing or illegally evicting your tenants if you do not follow the correct procedures. There’s a different process to evict tenants in Northern Ireland. The exact procedure will depend on the tenancy agreement and its terms.

Can a tenant file for an eviction two months in advance?

You must file a Notice to Quit for this type of eviction at least two months in advance. You must give more notice in many states. When a tenant rents an apartment, they sign a lease agreement and agree to abide by the terms of this agreement. If they breach the terms of the lease they have signed, you can file for an eviction.

Can a landlord evict you in Rhode Island?

Rhode Island law empowers landlords to evict tenants for the following reasons: Nonpayment of rent – If a tenant fails to pay rent, then the landlord may issue a 5-Day Notice to Pay or Quit after the state-mandated 15 day grace period. If the tenant still does not pay, then the landlord may pursue formal eviction.

Can a Marshal give a tenant a notice of eviction?

Notice of Eviction. The Marshal, Sheriff or Constable will deliver a Notice of Eviction to the tenant. This tells the tenants that unless they move within 14 days, the Marshal will evict them. If the tenant owns a manufactured home in a mobile home park, the tenant will get more notice before having to move.

When does a landlord have to evict a tenant?

Violation of Lease Terms / Rental Agreement – If a tenant violates a provision of a written lease/rental agreement, the landlord is required to give the tenant the opportunity to correct the issue before moving forward with the eviction process.

What happens in a nonpayment eviction case?

In a nonpayment case, the tenant may pay you all the money. If this happens, the tenant gets to stay. The tenant may also make a Motion to ask the court to dismiss the case or to give the tenant a judgment. If the tenant wins, the case is over and you can’t evict the tenant. Sometimes, the case is dismissed, but you can start it again.

Share via: