Table of Contents
- 1 How do I file a lawsuit against someone in Illinois?
- 2 Can you refuse to be served in Illinois?
- 3 How do I file a motion response in Illinois?
- 4 How much does it cost to file a lawsuit in Illinois?
- 5 How long do you have to file a motion to reconsider in Illinois?
- 6 How long do you have to file a lawsuit in Illinois?
How do I file a lawsuit against someone in Illinois?
Eight Step Process
- Go to the courthouse.
- List your name as the plaintiff.
- The party you are suing is called the defendant.
- List the amount of money you request as damages.
- Include a brief explanation about why you are suing the defendant.
- The clerk will assign a number to each small claim case.
Can you refuse to be served in Illinois?
Per State Rules: Alabama and Illinois do not allow service to someone who has refused. Per Customer Rules: If Customer Requirements include “Do not Drop Serve” then you should not serve anyone who refuses the documents.
How do I file a motion response in Illinois?
Step 1: File your Answer/Response to Complaint/Petition with the Circuit Clerk in the county where the court case is filed. you can use to e-file your form. Step 2: Send a copy of your Answer/Response to Complaint/Petition to the other parties.
How much does it cost to file a lawsuit in Illinois?
FILING THE ACTION To file a small claims suit, the individual bringing the action (the “plaintiff”), must pay a filing fee of $89.00 on cases up to $2,500.00. For suits in an amount over $2,500.00 and up to $10,000.00, the filing fee is $264.00. These fees are paid when filing the case in the Circuit Clerk’s Office.
How long do you have to file a motion to reconsider in Illinois?
What is the deadline to file a Motion to Reconsider in Illinois? 735 ILCS 5/2-1203 provides that in cases decided by a judge, as opposed to a jury, the parties have 30 days after the entry of a judgment to file a motion for rehearing, retrial, modification of the judgment, or to vacate the judgment.
How long do you have to file a lawsuit in Illinois?
Illinois sets a time limit of two years on filing a personal injury lawsuit in the state’s civil court system. This two-year time limit, known as a “statute of limitations,” begins to run on the date of the accident in most cases.