General Info

What are the levels of the caste system?

What are the levels of the caste system?

The traditional caste system consists of a hierarchy of four castes (varnas): Brahmins (priests and teachers), Kshatriyas (rulers and warriors), Vaishyas (merchants and cultivators), and Shudras (servants). The non-Aryans who were incorporated into the Aryan society belonged to the Shudra caste.

What are the Hindu caste system levels?

The Hindu caste system includes four official levels: the Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and Shudras. The Brahmin class includes the Hindu priests. The Kshartriya class includes rulers and warriors. The lowest official class is the Shudra; Shudras include servants and other common laborers.

What is the most important base of caste system?

Many believe that the groups originated from Brahma, the Hindu God of creation. At the top of the hierarchy were the Brahmins who were mainly teachers and intellectuals and are believed to have come from Brahma’s head. Then came the Kshatriyas, or the warriors and rulers, supposedly from his arms.

What are the five levels of the caste system?

Terms in this set (5)

  • Braham. single spiritual power that Hindus believe lives in everything.
  • Kshatriya. second level of the varnas in the Hindu caste system; WARRIORS.
  • Vaishyas. 3rd class of the caste system (worker class, the legs of purusha-sakta.)
  • Shudra.
  • Untouchable/Harijan/Dalit.

    Which is the best caste in the world?

    Here are six of the most significant:

    • Brahmins. The highest of all the castes, and traditionally priests or teachers, Brahmins make up a small part of the Indian population.
    • Kshatriyas. Meaning “protector[s] of the gentle people,” Kshatriyas were traditionally the military class.
    • Vaishyas.
    • Shudras.
    • Adivasi.
    • Dalits.

    Which is most powerful caste?

    4 Major Caste Groups in India: According to Varna

    • Brahmans: Brahmans are at the top in Varna hierarchy.
    • Kshatriyas: Next to Brahmans are the Kshatriyas in varna ranking.
    • Vaishyas: Vaishyas rank below Kshatriyas, but fall within the ambit of ritually high Varna.
    • Shudras:

      Share via: