What are the six points of the Star?

What are the six points of the Star?

A hexagram (Greek) or sexagram (Latin) is a six-pointed geometric star figure with the Schläfli symbol {6/2}, 2{3}, or {{3}}. Since there are no true regular continuous hexagrams, the term is instead used to refer to a compound figure of two equilateral triangles. The intersection is a regular hexagon.

How many angles does a Star of David have?

Remember that David in Hebrew is spelled with the letters Dalet + Vav + Dalet. In an ancient version of Hebrew, the Dalet had the form of a triangle. It included two angles at 45 degrees and one at 90 degrees.

Where does the star of David come from?

Star of David, Jewish symbol composed of two overlaid equilateral triangles that form a six-pointed star. It appears on synagogues, Jewish tombstones, and the flag of the State of Israel. The symbol originated in antiquity, when, side by side with the five-pointed star, it served as a magical sign or as a decoration.

How is the number 7 linked to the star of David?

Many commentators have suggested that the message of the Star of David is linked to the number seven by way of its six points surrounding the center. The number seven, of course, is key to our understanding the world as a holy creation of God.

Is the star of David a kabbalistic symbol?

Kabbalistic Insights Into the Star of David. The Star of David is a symbol commonly associated with Judaism and the Jewish People. In Hebrew, it is called Magen David (“Shield of David”). A six-pointed star, the Star of David is composed of two overlaid equilateral triangles, one pointing up and the other pointing down.

Why did the Jewish community use the star of David?

Kabbalists popularized the use of the symbol as a protection against evil spirits. The Jewish community of Prague was the first to use the Star of David as its official symbol, and from the 17th century on the six-pointed star became the official seal of many Jewish communities and a general sign of Judaism,…

Share via: