What are the words of Shahada in English?

What are the words of Shahada in English?

In the English translation—”There is no god but God. In Sunni Islam, the Shahada has two parts: lā ʾilāha ʾillā -llāh (There is no deity except God), and muḥammadun rasūlu llāh (Muhammad is the messenger of God), which are sometimes referred to as the first Shahada and the second Shahada.

How do you say the shahada in Arabic?

What does the Shahada mean? Transliteration: “Ashadu an la ilaha illa illa-ilah, wa ashadu anna muhammadan rasul ullah.” Translation: “There is no God but God (Allah – i.e. there is none worthy of worship but Allah), and Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.”

What is said in the Shahada?

For Sunni Muslims the Shahadah is: “There is no God but Allah and Muhammad is the Prophet of Allah.” Shi’a Muslims add an extra phrase to the Shahadah: “And Ali is the friend of God.” This shows their belief that Ali, Muhammad’s cousin, was the true successor of Muhammad.

What is Kalimatu Shahada in Islam?

Abstract. Shahadah is the promise of someone who is willing to become a Muslim. This is because, as a. Muslim it is necessary to acknowledge and recognise that Allah SWT is the only God to be. worshipped and the Prophet Muhammad is the only Messenger to be followed.

How do Muslims do Shahada?


  • In order to become a Muslim, a person simply has to declare the Shahadah in front of witnesses.
  • The Arabic can be transliterated into the Roman alphabet like this:
  • Muslims use the name ‘Allah’ for God in the Shahadah.
  • Muslims also believe the Prophet Muhammad was the last prophet sent by God.

    How is the Shahadah different in Shi’a Islam?

    Shahadah. The Shahadah is the declaration of faith, or the key statement of belief of Muslims. For Sunni Muslims, the Shahadah is: There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is the Prophet of Allah. Shi’a Muslims add an extra phrase to the Shahadah: And Ali is the friend of God.

    What is 4th Kalma?

    The fourth kalima is also referred to as Tauheed or Tawheed meaning ‘unification of oneness of God’. This is the first pillar which is the central doctrine in Islam. It holds that Allah is One (Al-Ahad) and Single (Al-Wahid). Say, “He is Allah, [who is] One, Allah, the Eternal Refuge.

    What’s the first Kalma?

    The first kalima tayyab means the word of purity. The second kalima shahadat is declaration of faith (shahada). The other three kalmas are azkar (remembrance of Allah) which teach the importance of worshiping and asking for the forgiveness of Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala.

    Share via: