What is the name of Jain holy book?

What is the name of Jain holy book?

the Agamas
The texts containing the teachings of Mahavira are called the Agamas, and are the canonical literature – the scriptures – of Svetambara Jainism.

Is there a holy book for Jainism?

The holy book of Jainism is a collection of texts known as Agam Literature or the Agam Sutras. Jains see these texts, which are the transcriptions of Lord Mahavir’s sermons, as sacred documents.

What is the mother tongue of Jains?

Jain Prakrit is a term loosely used for the language of the Jain Agamas (canonical texts). The books of Jainism were written in the popular vernacular dialects (as opposed to Sanskrit which was the classical standard of Brahmanism), and therefore encompass a number of related dialects.

Does Jainism have one God?

Every living being has a potential to become God. Hence Jains do not have one God, but Jain Gods are innumerable and their number is continuously increasing as more living beings attain liberation.

Do Jain monks brush their teeth?

The findings confirmed that Jain monks have poor oral hygiene and an increased prevalence of periodontal disease compared to that of the similarly aged general population because, as a part of their religion, many Jain individuals avoid brushing their teeth especially during fasting, keeping in mind not to harm the …

How many Jains are in the world in 2020?

Jain worship in the UK Today there are some six million Jains worldwide, and they represent less than 2% of India’s population. The Jain community in India is centred in Rajasthan and Gujarat.

Do Jains wear jewelry?

Svetambara Jains decorate images richly for festivals using flowers, paints, and jewels, and make decorative offerings of flowers, leaves, sandalwood, saffron, camphor, gold or silver leaf, pearls, precious stones or costume jewellery.

What is the Jain symbol called?

For Jains, the swastika is the symbol of the seventh tirthankara (literally “ford-maker,” one of the liberated souls showing the way for others in the Jain tradition), with the arms symbolizing one of the four places a soul can be reborn in the cycle of birth and death.

Share via: